Day QM2-5, Wednesday October 4, Saguenay, Quebec

Crystal Serenity arrives in Quebec (Pier 30) this evening.

I was up a little before 5. With the door ajar to allow the signal in the internet was fairly decent and I got my daily post done about 6:15, then went up to the Grills Deck to check things out. We were probably 10 miles from the port and the sun would not rise until 6:45. I went back out then and the sky was quite bright although the sun was hiding behind the hills.

We docked about 7:30 and had our first gangway out about 8. Breakfast this morning was french toast and English Bacon.

There was a strong, chilly breeze throughout the morning. I left the ship about 10. I thought I knew the most likely place to find a cane and the tourist information desk I looked briefly and it should work but is back in the carrying case.

Tim Hortons was right next to the Pharmacy, and it was a good time for lunch. It was crowded inside but the outdoor tables were well sheltered from the wind. Kind of ironically, a couple asked to share the table with me and we checked back and forth and they were on QM2, and they actually live within about 10 miles from me. Small world.

There was still a chilly wind on the way back but it was mostly behind me, and the grade was down rather than up.

On the approach to the port I stopped for a photo of the ship and also got a look at the position of my cabin.

One thing I have found very poor on this voyage is the ship exit and entry. Both getting back on in Halifax and both directions in Saguenay have been very SLOW and they should not have been peak times. Cunard, you can surely do better.

We share the port today with Explora1, tendering in the harbor.

I did as much of my packing as I could after returning to the ship as well as stepping out for the Kings Court version of Afternoon Tea, buffet food and a waiter coming around with the tea.

Sailaway was at 6 with the chilly wind back. I met 3 of my tablemates on the Grills Deck and caught a nice sunset before we dropped our lines.

I watched with them as we started backing to our turnaround spot but the chill became a bit much for me and I bid them farewell about 6:15.

I was the only early bird at table 118. My final dinner was Chilled Mango Banana Soup, Ribeye, and Strawberry Ice Cream.

The evening was spent in a combination of organizing photos, a little bit of writing, and a lot of packing. I settled in bed just after 10,

Today’s parting shot will be about the word Grill. It conveys so many different meanings, from Cunard’s premier restaurants to Crystal’s Trident Grill (equivalent to QM2’s Boardwalk Café or HAL’s Dive-in) to the neighborhood Bar and Grill, kind of like I suppose a British Pub. It also is used as a verb, as to be grilled at a police station. I guess the common thread is heat whether physical or in some cases emotional. One word, so many and such different meanings.

Roy

programme1005.pdf

2 thoughts on “Day QM2-5, Wednesday October 4, Saguenay, Quebec”

  1. Roy –

    I recall that you were on QM2 previously in Brit. Class. Do you think that Grills Class is worth the difference in price?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.