Day CS4, Monday, October 9, 2023, Halifax, NS

Queen Mary 2 is in Sydney

I was up about 5:30 and down to the Bistro for coffee a little after 6. When I went up to Marketplace for the first stage of breakfast just after 7 the sun was just coming up as viewed from the aft deck.

We docked about 8 at pier 20 and were cleared about8:15 but I remained on the ship until about 10. I did take one full lap around the promenade deck and paused near the bow of the harbor walk where I would later take a brief walk.

I did leave the ship about 10 walking to about Bishop’s landing on the harbor waterfront boardwalk. I think the total walk was somewhat over a mile but much of it was the zig-zag path through the terminal. Along the walk I passed a few statues including one for Woman Volunteers who served the armed forces in WW2, and another to the Immigrants who arrived in Canada through the Port of Halifax.

On the way back I paused for a photo of Serenity at the pier.

Lunch was my typical Trident Lunch but I added a scoop of ice cream from Scoops.

All aboard was 3:30 and the gangway was removed right about 4, apparently right after the port agent disembarked. The horn sounded at 4:07 and we started to move. Louis sang at 4:13.

There was one afternoon talk after we left the port with Jean-Pierre Andrieux speaking on the Pine Tree Line, the first of the defensive radar and other networks set up in the Cold War Era.

The Crystal Society Party was in Palm Court at 5:45. Sunset was at 6:45 but it was quite cloudy so I stepped out on deck just before the party to capture the sun as it disappeared behind the clouds.

Captain Vincent Taillard (quite new to Crystal) welcomed us aboard and then Crystal Society Hostess Emmalee Sassi Seager presented awards to several top cruisers. The very top cruiser was a lady with 161 cruises.

I was surprised that Waterside did not have a special Dinner for Canada’s Thanksgiving and decided to try something different, dining for the first time ever in Tastes, a venue on the Lido Deck which uses about half the space originally occupied by the covered aft pool. I found it did not have some of the things I normally expect with dinner but enjoyed the Mongolian Lamb Chops and a double desert, a Key Lime Slice, and a plate of fruit and berries a la mode.

The featured entertainment was Icons in Concert. I had planned to attend at least part of it but fell asleep at my desk and missed it.

As today’s parting shot it is amazing how time flies. It is hard to believe this cruise is more than half over.

Roy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.