Day CS7, Thursday, October 12, 2023, Newport RI

Queen Mary 2 is at sea enroute to Brooklyn

I was up shortly after 5 and had my final load of laundry in the washer just after 5:30. The load got moved to the dryer about 6:45and then on to breakfast, with the sun rising just as I finished gathering my meal in Marketplace.

After finishing breakfast it was time to pick up the clothes, and packing started in earnest. The anchor dropped about 8:45 and we were situated in what seemed like a rather narrow gap between Rose Island to the north and Fort Adams to the south. I left the ship about 10:30 for a short walk in Newport

I have been in Newport many times (I think most recently in 2017) so there was not a lot I needed to do and took just a short walk around, walking to Queen Ann Square and passing by Trinity Church (Anglican) one of the oldest churches in Newport, and then returned to the tender pier. I was in Newport for about an hour.

Something I have never done before is have lunch on the aft Lido deck (Often breakfast but never lunch) and it was just an ideal day for that.

The final Crystal Visions program of the cruise was Jean-Pierre Andrieux on the history of New York, with a special emphasis on passenger ships. I watched on TV while packing continued, and the big bag was pretty much ready before dinner.

Sunset was about 6:10 but I would be busy then and caught it close to setting about 5:55.

My final entertainment event was comedian Steve Caouette in the Stardust Club at 6PM. The show was a bit longer than expected but very nice.

Despite being over half an hour late I was still seated at the usual shared table with 2 Ambassador Hosts and one lady. My selections for my final dinner were Chicken Consume, Homemade Mafaldine Pasta, and Roasted Almond Ice cream.

I am hoping to wrap up ths post and be in bed by about 10.

Quick parting shot. It has been fabulous being back on Crystal one last time.

Roy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.